World Vision 8 Hour Kidz Famine 2017 “One Future No Hunger”

I am Joey Chow and I am 11 year old!

IMG_2147[1]

This is my 3rd year joining World Vision 8 Hour Kidz Famine. Next year 2018 will be my last year to join the Kidz Famine. The next step I need to challenge myself for 30 Hour Famine, that will be a big challenge for me, but I willing to take it.

1st Year 2015 ~ I join 8 Hour Kidz Famine with GBBM

2nd Year 2016 ~ I join 8 Hour Kidz Famine with Sin Chew Daily

3rd Year 2017 ~ I join 8 Hour Kidz Famine with Jungle Gym

IMG_1960[1].JPG

What is World Vision?

World Vision is an international Christian humanitarian organisation dedicated to working with children and families to overcome extreme poverty and injustice. We work to promote human transformation, seek justice for the oppressed and demonstrate the love of God for all peoples. World Vision serves all people regardless of religion, race, ethnicity or gender.

Today, World Vision is helping more than 100 million people through its various development, humanitarian and emergency relief programmes. With more than 45,000 staff in 100 countries, it is one of the largest relief organisations in the world.

What is 8 Hour Kidz Famine?

The 8-Hour Kidz Famine is a fun-size version of the Famine where you get the fast for 8 hours, learn about issues affecting people in this big, big world and see how you are making a difference!

There’ll be lots of exciting games and activities for you to have fun while learning about poverty and hunger across the globe. You’ll also make plenty of new friends, so don’t miss out.

To join a Kidz Famine Camp, a registration fee of RM20 will be collected per individual (to help cover the costs of the camp) and you will receive a Donation Box to help you with your fundraising effort (min RM60).

I am looking forward for today since June 2017, finally it’s here my favor day 19th August 2017 ~ the 8 Hours Kidz Famine camp day. I wake up at 6.30 am and I am so exciting to dress up, and have my heavy breakfast and milk. This is to ensure I have keep enough food in my stomach and can stand till 6 pm today.

I reach Atria Shopping Galley at 7.30 am, the rehearsal start at 8 am. I am proud to be select as one of the performance for “Hand in Hand With You” with Hand Gesture and to read out the camper’s declaration.

Here is the time table for the day:-

Time Program
9.15am – 9.50am Arrival & Register of Campers
10.00am – 11.30am Opening Ceremony and Video (1) “Who Are We?”
11.30am – 12.00pm Recitation of Campers’ Declaration and Video (2) “Meet Yvette, an 8 year old girl living in Burundi”
12.00pm – 1.30pm Activity : Kidz Famine Challenge 1
1.30pm – 2.10pm Break Time and Warm-up Stretch Exercise
2.10pm – 3.00pm Time of Refelction
3.00pm – 3.30pm Activity: Story Telling by Stickman
3.30pm – 4.00pm A Gift of Love
4.00pm – 5.00pm Awards Ceremony; Flahs Back of Camp Photos and Team Photo
5.00pm – 6.00pm World Vision Song; Get Ready To Go Up To Jungle Gym; Famine Count-down at Jungle Gym and Announcement of Break Fast!
7.00pm – 8.00pm Playing Time At Jungle Gym and Time to Say Goodbye and Pick-up by Parents. (Collect Goodie Bag & Certificate)

All kids reach about 9 am and waiting for the register as everyone is so exciting for today same goes to me. After register, everyone is given a World Vision T-shirt and put on the Jungle Gym wristband because after the breakfasting, we are allow to play inside Jungle Gym. Wow! This is very attractive to all of us.

The camp begin at 10 am. Two Emcee – Terence and Kyle start the event by welcome everyone and finally its start! I am so exciting! Then follow by Aunty Jessey, she is given a speech by thank you everyone. The World Vision Youth Mobilizer Issac Ng share with us the experience about helping the poor in 3rd world country. I am a lucky girl after hearing what he has sharing with us.

 

First, we have an ice breaking as we introduce ourself by doing some action to make it more fun because all of us from different school and most of us we do not know each others. All of us are separate to 10 groups and each group with 10 campers.

IMG_1832[1].JPG

Second, I am given Campers Declaration, then all other campers have to repeat.

“We willingly and actively participate in the 8-Hour Kidz Famine to help children living in hunger and poverty, so that they will grow up without the basic rights every child deserves.

We fast to show solidarity in our way with those who do not have enough food to eat ad live in poverty every day. We contribute to this experience together, to bring change to those who need it.

I, hereby pledge to fast from 10 am to 6 pm, for 8 hours.”

IMG_2035[1]

We also be brief by the camp rules, and we shout for our slogan “ONE FUTURE NO HUNGER

IMG_1933[1]

Third, the game start! We are so exciting!

  • Water ~ puzzle the Pipelines shape (to construct a pipeline from the borehole to the village for access to clean and safe water.)
  • Education ~ fold the origami (learn a skill well enough to pass on that knowledge to the nest group.)
  • Healthcare ~ select the healthy food (gain the knowledge on improving your nutrition status)
  • Economic Development ~ animals vs hunters (earn a fair living through a specialized occupation.)
  • Emergency Preparation ~ by understand “fire” “flood” and “earthquake” (to learn the appropriate actions to take in responding to emergencies.)

Fire – Stay Low; Flood – Running Uphill; Earthquake – Crawling position with one hand covering the back of the neck.

  • Time of Reflection ~ a sharing session of overall learning experience through drawing.
  • A Gift of Love ~ each campers given a piece of paper and make a heart origami, to show our LOVE.

IMG_1949[1].JPG

I enjoy all the games, my group is “Green Group” everyone of us participant in the drawing and we want to show our love to everyone and we wish we could make it a better place for all kids.

IMG_2151[1].JPG

A wonderful story telling by  Terence and Kyla. Hope I can be so well like them a day.

All campers are given a certificate that we actually did it for 8 hours fasting! Congratulation to all the campers.

Before we proceed to Jungle Gym for our breakfasting. Time for me to present a song “Hand in Hand with You” with hand gesture. I am accompany by 10 campers and 10 volunteers https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnSurHk5uN4

One more time we shout as “ONE FUTURE NO HUNGER

This is the time where all of us waiting for to transfer to Jungle Gym and have fun. We are all proceed to the party room in Jungle Gym for our breakfast. Jungle Gym always the kid’s adventure playland that all kids love it. I am given sanitize to clean up our hand at the entrance after Jungle Gym Staff scan on the wristband. After that I walk to the party room and I pick a place with my buddy Sawyer and Cheryl.

IMG_2001[1].JPG

You know what Jungle Gym serve all the campers? Wow, It’s Bolognese Pasta, Egg Sandwich and Water Melon also a bottle of Yakult.

IMG_2011[1]

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 “ONE FUTURE NO HUNGER

All of us are so hungry and we enjoy our foods and it’s yummy!

Time for us to have fun in the playland! We all play together as after this 8 hours, all of us become good friends. The playland is extremely big, it’s consist of 3 levels and with lots of exciting slide ~ blue long slide; roller slide; purple slide and orange slides. A big ball pool for all of us to jump in and swim with the colorful balls. I have a great time with all the campers, my new friends and hope to meet you again in somewhere.

IMG_2021[1].JPG

Mummy : How was your day?

Joey : Good and I meet lots of new friends. I also learn to be save foods and water.

Mummy : Do you think you are a very lucky girl?

Joey : Yes, Mummy! By watching the World Vision video and they share with their experience in the poor country. I must appreciated what I have and I am so lucky.

Mummy : That is the intention for the event to let you to learn to be appreciated and give your love to those needed.

Joey : Can I sponsor a kid?

Mummy : Yes, my dear.

IMG_2029[1].JPG

“One Future No Hunger”

Jungle Gym Playland

Atria Shopping Gallery
+6017-336 8433/ +603-7731 7193
jga@junglegym.my
2 Floor, Atria Shopping Gallery, Jalan SS22/23, Damansara Jaya, 47400, Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

Bangsar Shopping Centre
+6012-3911 529 / +603-2282 2643
jgb@junglegym.my
4 Floor, Bangsar Shopping Centre,
No.285, Jalan Maarof, Bukit Bandaraya,
59000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Website: http://www.junglegym.my/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/junglegymplayland/

 

 

Leave a Reply

